Post Format

Go Fund Me – Women’s Surf Magazine

5 comments

So I did it. I started a go fund me account to finance starting an online and print Surf magazine for women. I feel nervous and overwhelmed because I know that, well I took on a huge load. At the same time I am beyond excited!

After a whole day thinking and pros and cons I decided it was best to start something huge like this with just one focus point. One sport. After researching more women’s sports magazines I saw a few that look at all female athletes and I knew that wasn’t for me. The idea hit me because I’ve always been drawn to the Ocean, to surfing and because of that I think I saw how down played women surfers are. So when the idea hit me it was mostly to bring awareness to these women. To inspire the younger surfers to not be just sex symbols in a mans surf magazine but show the world what they’re made of, their real talent and struggles.

Their stories.

 

http://www.gofundme.com/ac0olc

I have a big to do list:

  • Gather information on the whereabouts of International Pro female surfers as well as State level Pro’s.
  • Check out dates, locations and times of women’s surf competitions.
  • Call, email, Facebook, twitter female surfers *Repeat*.
  • Come up with a media kit to present to potential sponsors.
  • Contact surf brands and ask for donations and sponsorship and ads.
  • Set up interviews with surfers.
  • Build website.
  • Hire some one to help me gather content and edit website on the daily as well as help with promoting and social media
  • Contact Hearst Magazines about publishing a women’s monthly surf magazine.
  • Travel to the surf heats- interview- record- write-update website
  • Get a more reliable vehicle so that traveling around doesn’t risk my 1990 legend kahpooting on me.
  • Collect stories from guys/ of guys (more specifically male surfers) who support female surfers

It would be the greatest compliment if you shared my link to help me make this idea (dream) into a reality!!!!!!

 

 

 

5 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. Pingback: Go Fund Me – Women’s Surf Magazine | surf and fitness journey

  2. This article is very informative but it took me a long time to
    find it in google. I found it on 13 spot, you should focus on quality backlinks building, it will help you to increase traffic.
    And i know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo tips

    Reply

  3. I see a lot of interesting posts on your website.
    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you
    a lot of time, there is a tool that creates
    unique, google friendly articles in couple of seconds, just search in google – laranita’s free content
    source

    Reply

  4. I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend
    a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot
    of time, there is an online tool that creates unique, google friendly articles in minutes, just type in google – laranitas free content source

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

